Markus Schulz - Prague '11

With the ‘09 and ‘10 installments having focused on new dance republics in North America, 2011 sees Markus Schulz’s city-hopping compilation series make its return to mainland Europe. Last visiting in 2008 with ‘Amsterdam’, this new outing sends the series in the opposite direction and homes in on one of Eastern Europe’s most awe-inspiring capitals…

Just over a month ago, during the final stages of his set at Transmission – Future Cities, Markus Schulz held a poster up to the audience. Caught by the cameras feeding the O2 arena’s video screens the image went stage to ceiling. That poster bore the front cover of ‘Prague ’11’ and in holding it aloft Schulz had announced that the Czech capital would be the destination for his 2011 city compilation.

Having played there twice a year, every year for the last five, it’s certainly a place he’s developed a strong association with. His regular visits over the period have positioned him well to see the explosion in the popularity of trance and progressive – a rise Markus gauges visit-on-visit has being “close to exponential”…

He continues: “seeing music scenes expand, no matter what style they are, isn’t something a DJ ever tires of. Going to and from Prague in particular, but also to other Eastern European countries – Poland, The Ukraine for example – over the course of five years, and witnessing what’s happened with the music there, has made for an incredible collective experience for me.

Personally ‘Prague ’11’ is designed to reflect not only what’s happening in the city in the hear-&-now, but also my many musical experiences in the Czech Republic at large. Underground spots like Mecca, multitier super-clubs like SaSaZu & world-class arena events like Transmission have all cumulatively played their part. The clubbing population has embraced trance & progressive music on a grand scale and this is me holding a mirror up to it.”

With his fifth Transmission event played in early November, Schulz has spent the intervening 6 weeks on a comprehensive mission to find fresh-off-the-production-desk electronic music from around the world to create Prague’s profile for the release. On Saturday February 12th, he will return to the city with the music to play a special one-off night at the spectacular SaSaZu club.

Background about Markus Schulz’s City Albums Series:
Touching down in new metropolises is almost as much a part of being a DJ as working the turntables themselves – a fact that’s never been lost on Markus Schulz. In the last six years alone his always-rolling World Tour has taken him to more of them than many will see in a lifetime. It’s this ever-transforming melting pot of sound, sight and musical taste that fed his desire to encapsulate them musically. And in 2005 that’s what he started to do… Since then they have shuttled us between some of the most iconic and best known clubbing cities in the world with Miami, Ibiza and Amsterdam, Toronto & Las Vegas – all of whose clubbing credos Schulz has captured in mix form.

Release date: Friday January 28th 2011

Disc 1
01. Mikulas - Praha
02. Eelke Kleijn - Monkey Movin’
03. Khomha - Rainy in the Night
04. Space Rockerz - Get Down City
05. MSJ - Crossing Planets (Basil O'Glue Remix)
06. Saint X - Bounce
07. Norin & Rad - Segarra
08. Rex Mundi - Sandstone
09. Tucandeo - Lockdown (Big Room Mix)
10. DNS Project featuring Madelin Zero - Another Day
11. Danilo Ercole - Below the Equator Line (Basil O'Glue Remix)
12. Snatt & Vix - Warp Drive
13. Pobsky - Dark Cloud (Markus Schulz Big Room Reconstruction)
14. P.A.F.F. presents Paul Spidey - Conductor of Death
15. Wippenberg - Phoenix

Disc 2
01. Mikulas - 50.05°N, 14.28°E
02. Skytech - Sirens
03. Aerofoil - Caress 2 Impress (Markus Schulz Big Room Reconstruction)
04. Erick Strong - Heart Inside
05. Snatt & Vix featuring Alexandra Badoi - Cold Shower (Markus Schulz Big Room Reconstruction)
06. Aaron Camz - Room to Breathe
07. Beat Service - Outsider
08. Mike Foyle presents Statica - Forty Fathoms
09. Thomas Cresine - Morse Code
10. Rex Mundi - Valley of Dreams
11. Grube & Hovsepian - Invisible
12. Klauss Goulart - Turbulence
13. Why?!? - Lost
14. Mr. Pit - Backstage